Chairs and Institutes


Divisions of the Faculty of Georessources and Materials Engineering

Division of Mineral Resources and Raw Materials Engineering

  • Unit of Mineral Processing – AMR
  • Institute of Mineral Ressources Engineering – MRE
  • Unit of Mining, Environmental and European Law – BUR
  • Chair of Anthropogenic Material Cycles – ANTS
  • Institute for Mine-surveying, Mining Damage and Geophysics in Mining  – IFM
  • Institute for Advanced Mining Technologies – AMT
  • Chair of Repository Safety – ELS
  • Unit of Technology of Fuels – TEER


Division of Materials Science and Engineering

  • Department of Ferrous Metallurgy (IEHK)
    ► Chair of Ferrous Metallurgy
    ► Chair of Metallurgy of Iron and Steel
    ► Group for Integrity of Materials and Structures
  • Institute of Mineral Engineering (GHI)
  • Foundry Institute (GI)
  • Institute of Metal Forming (IBF)
  • Department for Industrial Furnaces and Heat Engineering (IOB)
  • Institute of Physical Metallurgy and Materials Physics (IMM)
  • Department of Process Metallurgy and Metal Recycling (IME)
  • Materials Chemistry (McH)
  • Chair of Information and Automation Systems for Process and Material Technology (IAT)
  • Corrosion and corrosion protection
  • Foundamentals of Solidification
  • Metallic Structure and Materials for Aerospace Engineering
  • Engineering Materials Analytics
  • Materials Mechanics
  • Modeling and Simulation of Energy Materials (MSEM)

Division of Earth Sciences and Geography

 Department of Geology (GIA)
      Chair of Geology and Palaeontology (GIA)
      Unit of Structural Geology, Tectonics and Geomechanics (GED)
      Unit of Neotectonics and Natural Hazards (NUG)

  Chair of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology (LIH)

  Unit of Hydrogeology (LFH)

  Chair of Applied Geophysics and Geothermal Energy E.ON Energy Research Center (GGE)

  Chair of Geology, and Geochemistry of Petroleum and Coal (LEK)
       Unit of Sedimentary Basin Analyses

  Department of Mineralogy and Economic Geology (IML)
      Unit of Computational Geoscience and Reservoir Engineering (CGRE)
      Unit of Clay Mineralogy and Petrology

 Chair and Department of Crystallography (IfK)

 Department of Geography
     Chair of Economic Geography (WiGeo)
     Chair of Physical Geography and Geo-Ecology (PGG)
     Unit of Physical Geography and Climatology
     Unit of Economic Geography in particular Economic Geography of Services (WiGeo d DL)
     Unit of Cultural Geography Kulturgeographie