Heitfeld prices for young academics 2019


Heitfeld prices for young academics 2019

Awardees © Heike Lachmann Dean of the Faculty Peter Kukla (left) and RWTH-Dean Ulrich Rüdiger (right) congratulate the graduates Antoine Jacquey, Arne Grobe, Berit Schwarze and Reinhard Fink (from left) on the price.

RWTH graduates received awards for outstanding achievements in geosciences.

The Professor Dr. Karl-Heinrich Heitfeld Foundation annually honors master's graduates and doctoral students of the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering at RWTH Aachen University for outstanding achievements. The foundation was established in 1995 by the emeritus professor of engineering geology and hydrogeology and his wife. Heitfeld was appointed to the Aachen University in 1970 and retired in March 1990 after 20 years. During this time, he contributed significantly to the development of engineering geology in Germany.

The 24th award ceremony took place during a ceremony in the SuperC and was opened by Rector Ulrich Rüdiger. Professor Peter Kukla, Dean of the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering, then presented the certificates to the graduates. Dr.-Ing. Antoine Baptiste Jacquey, Dr. Reinhard Fink and Dr. Arne Steffen Grobe were honored for their dissertations. Berit Jasmin Schwarze, M. Sc., received the award for her master's thesis.